Your Zakat

At MWC, we strive in making sure your Zakat donations
Reach those who need it the most.

Donate Your Zakat Today!

Zakat is the third pillar of Islam, obligatory upon every sane, mature Muslim, who’s wealth reaches the required threshold (Nisab).

Zakat Integrity: Verified Policy Details

Be assured your Zakat meets Islamic principles. Verified by Mufti Imam Yusuf Badat, our policy ensures careful distribution of your Zakat. For insight into our transparent process and the positive change your donation brings, please take a moment to review our detailed Zakat Policy Verification Document.

Ensure your Zakat is utilized with the highest fidelity to Islamic principles. Our comprehensive Zakat policy, verified by esteemed Mufti Imam Yusuf Badat, outlines the meticulous process we follow to distribute your contributions. It's important to us that you feel confident and knowledgeable about how your Zakat is making an impact. We invite you to review our Zakat Policy Verification Document to understand the care and expertise that stewards your giving.

Support MWC by Giving Your Zakat Today

Why Your Zakat Matters

frequently asked questions

Zakat al Fitr, also known as Fitrana, is a distinct charity from Zakat. While Zakat is an obligatory annual payment of a percentage of one’s wealth to the poor, Zakat al Fitr is a separate charitable obligation associated with Ramadan. It must be paid by the head of the household so long as their wealth reaches the Zakah Nisab on the day of eid, for every family member, including children and the elderly, before the Eid prayer. The purpose of Zakat al Fitr is to enable the less fortunate to celebrate Eid and purify the fasting person from any shortcomings during Ramadan.

Those eligible for Zakat fall under eight categories:
  1. The poor (al-Fuqaraa)
  2. The needy (al-Masakeen)
  3. Zakat facilitators (al-‘Amileena ‘Alayha)
  4. New Muslims and friends of the Ummah (al-Muallafati Quloobuhum)
  5. Captives and slaves (ar-Riqab)
  6. The debt-ridden (al-Gharimeena)
  7. In the cause of Allah (SWT) (Fisabeelillah)
  8. Those who are stranded (ibn as-Sabeel)

The Nisab is the minimum level of wealth required for Zakat obligation. It prevents individuals from giving more than their means and is based on prevailing market values of gold and silver.

Currently, the Nisab threshold is calculated using:

613 grams of silver at its current market value

88 grams of gold at its current market value


Since the prices of these metals fluctuate, the Nisab threshold may change over time.
Zakat does not have a fixed deadline but should be paid annually. It becomes obligatory for an individual to pay Zakat when they meet the Nisab threshold and maintain it for a full lunar year.